Serving Hudson County’s Progressive Jewish Community for Over 150 Years

Lay Leadership

Click here for our Clergy & Professional Staff.

Thomas Rosensweet, President
201.333.4229 ext. 2 (leave a message)

Born in Pittsburgh, Tom has lived in Jersey City “most of the time” since 1983.  He and his wife Barbara Hines have been members of Temple Beth-El since 2009.  Tom is a graduate of Brandeis University and holds a Master’s degree in Government from Cornell.

A childhood in the Steel City and a fascination with China led him to the metals business, where he was one of the first US traders to import steelmaking raw materials from China.  He started a trading company in 2003 and remains in this business to this day.

Tom and Barbara raised their daughter, Vanessa, in Jersey City; she graduated from Vassar College in 2019 and is now a pre-school teacher in Philadelphia.

After several years as a Temple Trustee, Tom became President in 2017, and has helped lead the transition to a new settled rabbi and numerous changes in the administration of the congregation.

In his spare time, Tom enjoys skiing, yoga, reading history and biographies, and playing guitar and piano.  You can spot him riding around town on his yellow bike or his silver Vespa.

Temple Beth-El’s Officers and Trustees:

For the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2023.

Temple Beth-El’s Officers:

  • Philip Gary, Esq., President 
  • Tom Rosensweet, Vice President
  • Karen Seemen Pinn, Esq., Vice President
  • Nancy Sambul, J.D., Vice President
  • Chris Eig, Treasurer
  • Deborah Lipp, Recording Secretary

Board of Trustees:

  • Aaron Brotman
  • Faith Ann Brown
  • Stephanie Chaiken
  • Ilan Eframian
  • Mark Kahn
  • Joe Koskuba
  • Seth Lieberman, Esq.
  • Craig Linder
  • Seth Lubin
  • Kristin Michaelson
  • Dr. Edward Ratush
  • Adam Sachs

Past Presidents

  • Irwin Rosen, Esq.
  • Tom Rosensweet


Aaron Brotman

Larry Gutterman

Executive Committee
Philip Gary, Esq

Beth Achenbach


Youth Education
Craig & Michele Linder

Nancy Sambul

Religious Practices
Kristin Michaelson

Social Action
Laura Katzive

Adult Education
Stephanie Chaiken


Read more about how to get involved or make suggestions.

Keep in Touch

Keep in touch with our latest community news, events and opportunities. Changes to your contact information? Send us an update.

Newsletter Join Our Mailing List

Give Online

Honor someone with a tribute donation.

Donate Now

Shabbat Information